The Xenomai real-time development framework. Recent and future developments.

Speaker(s) : Detlev Zundel

  • Language : English
  • Nature : Conference
  • Date : Thursday 12 July 2012
  • Schedule : 10h00
  • Duration : 40 minutes
  • Place : Uni Mail R170

Abstract

Although the latency properties of the Linux kernel have improved substantially in the past years, it is not yet a "realtime" operating system out of the box. Today there are two approaches available to improve on this. The RT Preempt patch set contains kernel wide changes improving the whole system, while a dual-kernel approach introduces a small separate scheduler below the linux kernel.

This presentation gives an introduction to both scenarios and the resulting requirements for developers using them will be explored. The Xenomai dual-kernel approach will be described in more detail together with its broader aim of providing a roadmap to existing realtime systems using proprietary systems like vxWorks, pSOS and others.

Latest developments like SMP support on Cortex A9 ARM systems will be presented and an outlook to the upcoming Xenomai 3 release will be given.

Biographie

Dipl.-Math. techn. Detlev Zundel graduated in Technomathematik (industrial mathematics) in 2001 from the University of Karlsruhe (TH), now Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, KIT. He then worked with DENX Software Engineering as a systems engineer for Embedded GNU/Linux. Since 2006 he is one of the two managing-directors for the company supporting a wide range of industrial customers successfully in using free operating systems. His focus is on the ARM, PowerPC and MIPS system architectures.

The Xenomai real-time development framework. Recent and future developments.

Intervenant(s) : Detlev Zundel

  • Langue : English
  • Type d'événement : Conférence
  • Date : Jeudi 12 juillet 2012
  • Horaire : 10h00
  • Durée : 40 minutes
  • Lieu : Uni Mail R170

Résumé

Bien que les propriétés de latence du noyau Linux se soient améliorées sensiblement ces dernières années, il n’est pas encore un système d’exploitation « temps réel » parfait. Aujourd’hui, il ya deux approches possibles pour améliorer ce point. L’ensemble des correctifs RT, amenant des changements large du coté du noyau, ou une autre approche qui consiste à introduire un petit programmateur séparé dans le noyau.

Cette présentation donne une introduction au second scénario et les exigences qui en découlent pour les développeurs qui les utilisent seront explorées. L’approche du "double noyau" Xenomai sera décrite plus en détail ainsi que son objectif plus large de fournir une feuille de route pour les systèmes en temps réel existants en utilisant des systèmes propriétaires comme VxWorks, pSOS et autres.

Les derniers développement, tel que le support de SMP sur les ARM Cortex A9 seront aussi présenté ainsi qu’un apperçu de la future version 3 de Xenomai.

Biographie

Diplôme de mathématique technique, Detlev Zundel l’a obtenu en 2001 à l’Université de Karlsruhe, connu actuellement sous le nom de Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). Il a depuis travaillé avec DENX Software Engineering en tant qu’ingénieur système sur GNU/Linux embarqué. Depuis 2006 il est l’un des deux directeurs-manageurs pour la compagnie supportant une large part de l’industrie utilisant des systèmes d’exploitation libre. Ils se concentrent sur les architectures ARM, PowerPC et MIPS.