NAND/MTD support under Linux

Speaker(s) : Matthieu Castet

  • Language : English
  • Level : Confirmed
  • Nature : Conference
  • Date : Thursday 12 July 2012
  • Schedule : 09h20
  • Duration : 40 minutes
  • Place : Uni Mail R280
Target audience : ProfessionalsGeeks

Abstract

NAND flash memory in embedded systems

NAND flash memory is a fast evolving technology, used in virtually all embedded devices with high density storage requirements. This goal of this presentation is to explain how NAND flash memory works, compare it with other types of memory, describe its performance, limitations and constraints. The presentation will also focus on specific NAND aspects that raise challenges for embedded systems: ECC, bad block management, wear levelling, programming constraints, etc.

In a second part, this presentation will describe NAND memory integration under Linux.

After a presentation of the MTD stack, we will discover the various filesystems which are suitable for NAND memories. We will then focus on the UBI stack (Unsorted Block Interface) and its associated filesystem UBIFS. Finally we will examine the challenges that need to be resolved for MLC memories and latest generation NAND memories.

Biography

Ivan DJELIC In charge of OS and low-level software at Parrot SA (http://www.parrot.com). Working on embedded software in general, from ARM SoC ROM software to userland libraries and tools. Linux kernel contributions: BCH library, MTD layer. Education/background: engineering in applied mathematics, research in compiler optimization

Matthieu Castet has been doing Linux kernel development since 2005 on the USB Eagle ADSL modem driver. He is in charge of the Linux platform at Parrot SA (http://www.parrot.com) and maintains Parrot’s own ARM SoC since 2007.

Attached documents

Slides
Slides (PDF - 1.3 Mb)

NAND/MTD sous Linux

Intervenant(s) : Matthieu Castet

  • Langue : English
  • Niveau : Confirmé
  • Type d'événement : Conférence
  • Date : Jeudi 12 juillet 2012
  • Horaire : 09h20
  • Durée : 40 minutes
  • Lieu : Uni Mail R280
Public cible : ProfessionnelsGeeks

Résumé

Utilisation des mémoires NAND dans les systèmes embarqués

Les mémoires flash NAND évoluent très rapidement et sont très répandues dans les systèmes embarqués nécessitant une grande densité de stockage.

Le but de cette présentation est d’expliquer comment les mémoires NAND fonctionnent, de les comparer avec d’autres types de mémoires, de décrire leurs performances, limitations et contraintes. Cette présentation couvrira également les aspects spécifiques des mémoires NAND et les contraintes qu’elles induisent pour les systèmes embarqués : ECC, gestion des bad blocks, wear levelling, contraintes de programmation, etc ...

La présentation couvrira dans un second temps l’intégration des mémoires NAND sous Linux. Après une présentation de la couche MTD, nous verrons les différents systèmes de fichiers adaptés aux spécificités des mémoires NAND. Une attention particulière sera portée à la couche UBI (Unsorted Block Interface) et au système de fichiers associé UBIFS. Enfin, nous examinerons les défis liés à la technologie MLC et plus généralement aux contraintes des mémoires de dernière génération.

Biographie

Ivan DJELIC est responsable des systèmes d’exploitation et des logiciels bas-niveau chez Parrot SA (http://www.parrot.com). I travaille sur les systèmes embarqués d’une manière générale, des codes de ROM pour SoC ARM jusqu’au bibliothèques logicielles en user-space et outils. Ses contributions dans le noyau Linux portent sur le sous-système MTD, une bibliothèque BCH. Cursus universitaire : ingénieurie en mathématiques appliquées, thèse sur l’optimisation des compilateurs.

Matthieu Castet : Développement dans le noyau Linux depuis 2005 : USB Eagle ADSL modem driver. En charge de la plateforme Linux chez Parrot SA (http://www.parrot.com) depuis 2007 : maintenance ARM SoC Parrot.

Documents joints

Slides
Slides (PDF - 1.3 Mo)