Collaborative software development for nanoscale physics

Speaker(s) : Yann Pouillon

  • Language : English
  • Nature : Conference
  • Date : Thursday 12 July 2012
  • Schedule : 14h40
  • Duration : 40 minutes
  • Place : Uni Mail R150

Abstract

Nanoscale physics is playing a steadily increasing part in the current technological evolution, bringing many challenges along with promising new properties. At the nanometer scale, it is indeed necessary to take quantum-mechanical effects into account, which makes the overall picture much more complexe than that provided by classical physics. In this area, the frontiers between various disciplines tend to blur significantly and collaboration takes precedence over competition.

This talk describes the collaborative efforts carried out in the framework of the European Theoretical Spectroscopy Facility (ETSF), a synchrotron-like e-infrastructure relying on a network of 200 scientists spread all over Europe. These efforts comprise the coordinated collaborative development of dedicated software, the supply of standardized and documented libraries, the setting and maintenance of a code repository as well as a test farm, the packaging of codes and libraries for major Linux distributions, and the technical training of researchers through the organization of developer schools.

Biographie

Researcher-Engineer at the University of the Basque Country, in San-Sebastián, Spain, Yann Pouillon is also coordinator of the software activities of the European Theoretical Spectroscopy Facility (ETSF, http://etsf.eu/). User and administrator of Linux-based platforms since 1996, he has been developer and maintainer of the Abinit software (http://abinit.org/) since 2004, and maintains the nanoscale-physics and nanoscale-physics-dev metapackages of Debian Science since 2010.

Attached documents

Document (PDF - 3.9 Mb)

Développmement logiciel collaboratif pour la physique nanoscopique

Intervenant(s) : Yann Pouillon

  • Langue : English
  • Type d'événement : Conférence
  • Date : Jeudi 12 juillet 2012
  • Horaire : 14h40
  • Durée : 40 minutes
  • Lieu : Uni Mail R150

Résumé

Le rôle de la physique nanoscopique au sein des évolutions technologiques actuelles occupe une place de plus en plus importante, apportant de nombreux défis en plus de nouvelles propriétés prometteuses. À l’échelle du nanomètre, il est en effet nécessaire de tenir compte des effets associés à la mécanique quantique, ce qui rend la vue d’ensemble beaucoup plus complexe que celle fournie par la physique classique. Dans ce domaine, les frontières entre de nombreuses disciplines s’estompent, et la collaboration prend le pas sur la compétition.

Cet exposé décrit les efforts collaboratifs entrepris dans le cadre du Service Européen de Spectroscopie Théorique (ETSF), une e-infrastructure fonctionnant comme un synchrotron et reposant sur un réseau de 200 scientifiques répartis dans toute l’Europe. Ces efforts comprennent le développement collaboratif et coordonné de logiciels dédiés, la fourniture de bibliothèques standardisées et documentées, la mise en place d’un dépôt de code ainsi que d’une ferme de test, l’empaquetage de logiciels et de bibliothèques pour des distributions Linux majeures, et la formation technique de chercheurs à travers l’organisation d’écoles de développeurs.

Biographie

Chercheur-ingénieur à l’Université du Pays Basque, à San-Sebastián, en Espagne, Yann Pouillon est également coordinateur des activités logicielles du Service Européen de Spectroscopie Théorique (ETSF, http://etsf.eu/). Utilisateur et administrateur de plate-formes basées sur Linux depuis 1996, il est aussi développeur et mainteneur du logiciel Abinit (http://abinit.org/) depuis 2004, et maintient les méta-paquets nanoscale-physics et nanoscale-physics-dev au sein de Debian Science depuis 2010.

Documents joints

Document (PDF - 3.9 Mo)